Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Collection Luther College (Wahoo, Neb.) records
Collection Number I/O:50
Dates of Creation 1883-1944
Extent of Description 3 linear feet, 5 boxes (1 oversized)
Language Swedish, English
Creator Luther College (Wahoo, Neb.)
Search Terms Luther College (Wahoo, Neb.)
Wahoo (Neb.)
Nebraska Conference
Universities and colleges
Student organizations
Johnson, Oscar John, 1870-1940
Hill, Samuel Magnus, 1851-1921
Brodine, Peter Johan, 1846-1917
Swanberg, Fredrik Nicolaus, 1853-1913
Peters, Gustav, 1832-1918
Related units of description Luther Junior College and Academy (Wahoo, Neb.) I/O:20
Samuel Magnus Hill papers MSS P:3
Administrative or Biographical History The Luther Academy in Wahoo, Nebraska began its first year on October 15, 1883. A small school had been built and the first teacher and president employed was Martin Noyd, an emigrant from Hälsingland, Sweden who was educated at Augustana College and Theological Seminary. The first term enrolled 5 students and after a year the enrollment had increased to 39. Due to the financial problems at Luther, Martin Noyd resigned from his position as President on January 1, 1887.

After several attempts to fill the vacant position, Samuel Magnus Hill accepted the position as acting president in 1888. Hill held the position of acting president and teacher at Luther until 1915 when he relocated to Colton, Oregon. The third president was Pastor August Theodore Seashore who served the school from 1915 to 1933.

For a detailed history of the early years of Luther Academy, its leaders and close ties with the Nebraska Synod, please see Prairie Grass Dividing by James Iverne Dowie, Augustana Historical Society Publications Vol. XVIII. For further detail on the life of Hill, see Samuel Magnus Hill: Swedish Educator, Poet, and Minister, by James I. Dowie and Lars Nordström.

Scope & Content The material in this collection relates to the first four decades of the Luther Academy and its close ties to the Nebraska Conference. There are minutes from the board of directors meetings 1883-1912, minutes from the executive committee 1899-1922, and the articles of incorporation. Included are also records from two literary student organizations--Norden and Wartburg Society, along with some correspondence from President O.J. (Oscar John) Johnson, newspaper clippings, and misc. papers and manuscripts from the early years of Luther Academy. In addition there are also minutes from the Nebraska conference meetings 1891-1899, letters to the conference presidents G. Peters (1887-1889), F.N. Svanberg (1893-1897), P.J. Brodine (1889-1893, 1897-1900) concerning the financial aspects of the school and pastoral reports.

Finding Aid Link Finding Aid Link